Invisible

adepeju adenuga
Sep 18, 2023

--

Poem by Peejay.

I have come to share a poem with you.

I wonder if you will hear my sound as it travels,

for I am invisible to you.

I smile as I constantly check out your electricity.

hoping that it is not a prank,

How good does it get to have light 24/7?

Even the kids back home first learn “Up Nepa, before they call out Mother”.

I am reminded of your good facilities, the minute he smiles at me,

yet I am invisible even to him.

You probably nodded your heads,

as you try to understand all I have said,

for I do not pronounce the words as you expected,

Thank you, sir, for your nobility.

I do hope my lines held you in captivity,

and not my beauty.

For I hope to remove my cloak of invisibility.

--

--

adepeju adenuga

I love the power of stories, playing with words and my imagination to the rescue.